Photo: Birdtail River in Upper Assiniboine River Conservation District.

Manitoba’s 18 Conservation Districts work on conservation projects throughout the province, from the U.S. border in the south to The Pas in the north, to the Saskatchewan border in the west and approaching the Whiteshell in the east. Our districts work with communities, farmers, landowners, and all levels of government (municipal, provincial, federal, and indigenous) to conserve Manitoba’s soil, water, habitat, and climate.

Manitoba’s Conservation Districts are governed by local boards of directors. Manitoba Sustainable Development manages the regulatory framework and provides core funding. Member municipalities also provide core funding to the districts.

In 2020, Manitoba’s 18 Conservation Districts will transition into 14 Watershed Districts. Several districts will merge and all districts will align with natural watershed boundaries. Learn more from Manitoba Sustainable Development.